Progress

zssFitness

I wasn’t sure whether to categorize this blog under Fitness or Girl Talk. It’s related to fitness, so here we go. Lately I’ve been down on myself because I haven’t been eating as well as I should have been and I haven’t been working out as hard as I normally do. I strive to not take days off from working out; I try to make sure I always do something that qualifies as physical activity. I’ve been feeling like I’m not getting the results I want. I thought that I was in a rut.

Then came Transformation Tuesday, a silly hashtag fad used on Twitter and Instagram. I saw friends posting baby pictures of themselves tagged with the “Transformation Tuesday.” I decided to make one of myself and scanned Facebook for old pictures of myself. I pasted the old picture with a picture I took that day. You can see the results over there.

I was amazed by the response of my friends: congratulations, nods of respect, everything. I came to the realization that I should be striving for progress. Sure I have goals that I want to reach, and I’m focused on reaching them in a timely manner. I can’t beat myself up week to week about not seeing the scale continuously drop. Perfection is always going to be unreachable, because it’s ever changing. But progress is very measurable and helps to self motivate us.

Girl Talk

On the topic of fitness, I wanted to discuss respect. Incidents have been surrounding me this week, and motivated me to create a rant video on YouTube.

Let me summarize.

Everyone deserves respect, regardless of appearance, gender, religion, hairstyle, height, weight, etc. You get it. No matter what the circumstances are, everyone deserves respect.

That mean girl you can’t stand deserves respect. That annoying rude guy in class who always has something to say deserves respect.

People are objectified and singled out regardless of how they look. I know plenty of smaller girls who get made fun of and are told to eat more. There are bigger girls I know who aren’t even seen as human beings simply because they’re not the same size as someone else.

Listen, ladies. We’re all meant to be different sizes, shapes, heights, and weights. There is no medium. There’s no middle ground. There’s no standard of beauty.

The sooner we all realize that we’re all beautiful, the better.

Be fierce and respect others!

-Auty.

Leave a Reply

