Shake It Up

Fitness

This week I took a leap of faith and went to the gym at my school! I normally hate working out in front of people. Since I’ve been in college, I’ve gotten so used to dorm room workouts. My best friend Tate dragged me out of my comfort zone and we hit the treadmills! It was nice to run and not have to walk back. Also this week I had my first collegiate Zumba class. I’ve taken a Zumba class before at my gym back home, but this was totally different! The girls in my class were closer to my age. I loved it!

The point I’m trying to get at is that it’s a great idea to switch up your workouts! Take a leap of faith outside your comfort zone. You will not be disappointed, I promise. My next goal is to take a yoga class. I’ve always thought that’d be so much fun! If you’re looking for more ideas on how to switch up your workout, you can check out this article from muscleandstrength.com.

F32163_325845084201092_130648838_nashion

Some of you may be like me and like to stick to working out at home. When you take my advice and leave your living room, you might wonder what to wear. Other people will be seeing you work out and sweat, and you have to be confident in what you’re wearing!

I struggled with this when I first started taking Zumba. I didn’t want to show too much skin because that’s not ladylike. I didn’t want to be completely covered because I would get overheated. I consulted the beauty experts at Seventeen magazine. This article really helped me find some ideas as to what to wear.

I now have my signature shorts and tee shirt ensemble as my go-to gym outfit. I recently purchased a pair of yoga pants that I can’t wait to wear!

There’s no style guide for gym clothes, just keep in mind to be appropriate! People of the other sex will probably be in attendance. My general rules are no short-shorts, no exposed sports bras, and no too-tight pants. We’re classy ladies on journeys to fitness.

Be fierce and make your gym clothes work!

-Auty.

Leave a Reply

